Mr Clements Reads…

Mr Clements – Librarian

All of these books are available in the Lawson Library at GSAL.

Bridge of Clay

Marcus Zusak

A heart-wrenching family saga, narrated by Death, from the author of The Book Thief.

I Found You

Lisa Jewell

A gripping thriller about single mum Alice, who finds a man on the beach outside her house. He remembers nothing, and against her better judgement, Alice invites him into her home…

The Truth About Keeping Secrets

Savannah Brown

Sydney’s dad is the only therapist in town and knows everybody’s secrets – so when he dies in a mysterious car crash, Sydney suspects foul play.

War Doctor

David Nott

The powerful, extraordinary story of surgeon David Nott, who for 25 years has been volunteering in some of the world’s most dangerous war zones.

Natives: Race & Class in the Ruins of Empire

Akala

A vital look at race & class and the ways in which they impact individuals & society today.

The Three-Body Problem

Cixin Liu

Ground-breaking, cerebral sci-fi set against the backdrop of China’s Cultural Revolution.

Lanny

Max Porter

A stunning, poetic, kaleidoscopic portrait of a small village, the lives within it, and the stories that surround it. From the author of the equally great Grief Is The Thing With Feathers.

Everything About You

Heather Child

When Freya gets a new virtual-assistant, she uses it to look through her missing sister’s online presence – but soon the assistant seems to take on a life of its own – and seems to know more than it should… A creepy techno-thriller for fans of Gone Girl and Black Mirror.

Long Way Down

Jason Reynolds

A gripping novel-in-verse set during a single elevator journey, as the protagonist Will sets out for revenge on the person who killed his brother. Shortlisted for all kinds of awards, we’ve just been looking at this book with Y8 English classes – it’s been very popular, so don’t expect to find it in the library any time soon! You can reserve it though, or go out and get your own copy! Highly recommended!

The Way We Eat Now

Bee Wilson

A look at how modern food, in all its complexities, has transformed the world around us – fascinating, insightful, and will make you think twice about what you’re eating!

Shapeshifters: On Medicine and Human Change

Gavin Francis

GP Gavin Francis draws on his patients’ bodily transformations – anorexia, steroid use, puberty, horns growing from heads – to examine
what it is to change, and what it is to be human.

The Extinction Trials

S. M. Wilson

An exciting story of survival, friendship, and dinosaurs – think The Hunger Games meets Jurassic Park!

Hedy Lamarr: An Incredible Life

William Roy & Sylvain Dorange

A beautiful graphic novel about the incredible life of Hedy Lamar – golden age Hollywood actress, and inventor who helped pave the way for wifi, GPS, and Bluetooth technology.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s